• Grits and Gear
  • Posts
  • Lost and Found: GPS Technology in Wilderness Rescues

Lost and Found: GPS Technology in Wilderness Rescues

As someone who’s spent a fair bit of time in the great outdoors, I’ve learned a thing or two about the importance of navigation.

Now, I’m not talking about the kind you use to find the nearest gas station on a road trip. I’m talking about the kind that can mean the difference between life and death when you’re stranded in the wilderness.

And in this day and age, that means understanding GPS technology.

More Insights, Tips, and Stories

Surviving a disaster, whether it’s a hurricane, an earthquake, or a societal collapse, requires more than physical preparedness.

In the wilderness, a minor cut can turn into a major problem if it gets infected. That’s where homemade soap comes in.

During my explorations, I’ve come across one creature that never fails to impress me with its industrious nature and significant impact on our freshwater ecosystems – the beaver.